LIVERPOOL St Helens will be looking to continue where they left off when they enter 2018.

The team gave their supporters reasons to be cheerful in the first half of the season, with a 65-5 hammering of Bowdon at the weekend leaving them second in the South Lancashire and Cheshire Division One table.

Pleasing performances from a whole host of players leave LSH well-placed at this stage, while coach Andy Northey will also be quietly encouraged by the development and contributions from a growing number of colt players during breakthrough seasons in senior rugby.

What a Christmas cracker the LSH faithful where treated to with 11 tries against Bowdon.

A good break from Paddy Royle then Danny Webster led to the returning Matty Cunliffe scoring the opener.

Another set of breaks from Mark Fryer and Chris Hull, on an outstanding debut from the youngster, eventually saw Fryer crash over out wide again for 10-0.

A superbly executed driving maul then provided space for the backs to work the ball to winger Josh Lynch to go over for his first of the afternoon.

Bowdon crossed for their only score but normal service resumed when a clever chipkick from captain Darren Wilson gave Lynch the opportunity to gather the ball and feed the supporting Chris Houlton for a try converted by Dan Filson.

The half ended with two further unconverted tries, the first from Lynch following a well worked lineout move and the second from Filson off a pass from Cunliffe after a marauding break from Alex McClurg.

A scything break from Webster saw Cunliffe score wide out again before quick counter play from LSH and another chip kick from Wilson allowed Lynch his hat-trick score.

A kick from Cunliffe presented Lynch with his fourth but a subdued 20 minutes followed.

A typical Wilson dart from a scrum allowed youngster Connor Thompson to round his opposite winger and start the scoring again.

LSH finished the game in style as a powerful scrum provided the space for Wilson to feed Cunliffe who completed his hat-trick.

LSH: Filson, Lynch, M Cunliffe, McClurg, Thompson, Johnson, D Wilson, Williamson, Houlton, Fryer, Royle, Gore, Roberts, Hull, Webster. Replacements: Heywood, Donlevy, Rawsthorne.