MICHAEL Smith defeated Luke Littler and Gerwyn Price before losing to Luke Humphries in the final on Night Eight of the BetMGM Premier League in Dublin on Thursday.

Despite Humphries' heroics, it was another positive night for Smith, who won through high-quality encounters against Luke Littler and Gerwyn Price to advance to his third nightly final of the campaign.

The 2023 World Champion recovered from 3-1 down to sink Littler in the last eight, winning five of the last six legs to secure his third win over the teenager in four meetings.

Smith then survived a match dart to deny Price in a captivating semi-final showdown, firing in six 180s and sealing the deal with a nerveless 104 checkout in the decider.

St Helens Star:

However Humphries produced a merciless display to topple Smith in the evening’s showpiece, kicking off the contest with legs of 12, 13 and 11 darts to threaten a record-breaking average.

Smith converted 113 and 125 combinations to win his two legs, although it wasn’t enough to deny Humphries a ninth consecutive victory in the Premier League.

“I’m really enjoying myself,” said the Newbury-born star, who could become the first player in Premier League history to win four successive nights with victory in Belfast next week.

“At the start of the season it felt really tough for me, but now I’m enjoying the game, and that’s when I’m at my best.

“I feel much more comfortable now. I feel like I belong here, and the last three weeks have just been fantastic.

“I know I’m not unbeatable, but I feel like I’m playing at a level where it’s going to take a big performance to beat me.

“I loved tonight. It was the loudest crowd I’ve ever played in front of. The atmosphere was incredible.

“As I said last week, I have got Irish heritage in my family, and I’m sure my Mum will be super-proud tonight, so it’s a really special feeling.”

The BetMGM Premier League continues at Belfast’s SSE Arena on Thursday March 28, as Humphries renews his rivalry with Littler in the evening’s opening quarter-final.

Van Gerwen will aim to return to winning ways when he plays Smith, Price meets Aspinall, while Wright and Cross also lock horns for a place in the semi-finals.

2024 BetMGM Premier League.

Night Eight, Thursday March 21.

3Arena, Dublin.


Luke Humphries 6-1 Peter Wright.

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Rob Cross.

Gerwyn Price 6-5 Michael van Gerwen.

Michael Smith 6-4 Luke Littler.


Luke Humphries 6-4 Nathan Aspinall.

Michael Smith 6-5 Gerwyn Price.


Luke Humphries 6-2 Michael Smith.

PDC Darts Night Nine Premier League Schedule - SSE Arena, Belfast.

Thursday March 28.


Luke Humphries v Luke Littler.

Michael Smith v Michael van Gerwen.

Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price.

Rob Cross v Peter Wright.