MICHAEL Smith has won the opening night of the 2024 BetMGM Premier League after three stunning performances at Cardiff's Utilita Arena, defeating the reigning Premier League champion Michael van Gerwen, Warrington thrower Luke Littler and Gerwyn Price.

St Helens Star:

The 2023 World Champion edged out Van Gerwen and Littler in last-leg shoot-outs to progress to Thursday’s showpiece, where he celebrated an emphatic 6-2 win over the Welshman.

Smith had punished a poor deciding-leg from Van Gerwen to prevail in the evening’s third quarter-final, before defying six 180s and a 105 average from Littler to set up a showdown against Price.

The Welshman – a runner-up in last year’s Premier League – drew first blood in the final with a clinical 80 finish on tops, before Smith responded with a three-leg burst to seize control of the contest at 3-1.

The world number three continued his charge with consecutive 120 and 107 combinations to move to the cusp of glory, although Price preserved his hopes with a 100 checkout in leg seven to double his tally.

However, the St Helens star responded by crashing in his fifth 180 to close in on victory, and he capped off a dominant display with a 13-darter to round off a statement performance.

“I’m really happy to win,” admitted Smith, who finished second in last year’s league phase.

“My game wasn’t where I would love it to be, but winning is winning and I love to do it.

“I think Night 15 in last year’s Premier League was my last win on tour, so after six months of hard work, it does feel really satisfying to get that momentum going again.

“My scoring wasn’t at its best, but I was putting everything together at the right time, when I needed it the most, and that was my statement to myself tonight."

The BetMGM Premier League continues on Thursday February 8, as Price and Smith collide in a repeat of tonight’s final on Night Two at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin.

Elsewhere, Littler and Cross lock horns, Van Gerwen takes on Aspinall in the evening’s opener, while Humphries and Wright also collide.

The 2024 BetMGM Premier League will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK & Ireland, through the PDC's worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers.

2024 BetMGM Premier League

Night One - Utilita Arena, Cardiff.

Thursday February 1.


Rob Cross 6-3 Peter Wright.

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Nathan Aspinall.

Michael Smith 6-5 Michael van Gerwen.

Luke Littler 6-2 Luke Humphries.


Gerwyn Price 6-2 Rob Cross.

Michael Smith 6-5 Luke Littler.


Michael Smith 6-2 Gerwyn Price.

Night Two - Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin

Thursday February 8.


Nathan Aspinall v Michael van Gerwen.

Michael Smith v Gerwyn Price.

Luke Littler v Rob Cross.

Luke Humphries v Peter Wright.