SAINTS have tantalisingly left Will Hopoate’s number 3 jersey vacant in the 2024 first team squad numbers announced today.

And re-iterating Chairman Eamonn McManus’s interview with the St Helens Star last week, the club have again stated that they continue to actively look in both the domestic and international club market to recruit a player who will take that squad number.

Konrad Hurrell retains his number 23 shirt, despite playing play all bar one of his 48 games for the club as centre – more than the departed Hopoate.

Most of the numbers are obvious, with new recruit from Warrington Daryl Clark becoming only the third man in 30 seasons to wear the iconic number 9 shirt at St Helens.

The England test rake follows in the boots of two legendary hookers Keiron Cunningham and James Roby.

Fellow new recruit Matt Whitley, who has joined from Catalans Dragons, has the number 19 shirt.

Moses Mbye, who replaced Joey Lussick midway through last year, moves up from 35 to number 14 ahead of his second season.

Saints’ Young Player of the Year George Delaney, who stepped up to the plate when injuries and suspension struck, has been handed the number 20.

Saints' 2023 Members’ & Players’ Player of the Year James Bell takes Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook’s number 15.

After impressing in the Reserves, 23-year-old Jake Burns becomes a full-time St Helens player for the first time and will have squad number 24.

Ben Lane (26) and McKenzie Buckley (27) both move up in number from last season too.

Five of the 2023 Academy Championship- winning Saints have their first senior Saints squad numbers within our First Team ranks.

They are Dayon Sambou (28), Will Roberts (29), Jonathon Vaughan (30), Noah Stephens (31), and Leon Cowen (32), have all received their first senior Saints squad numbers in the first team ranks.

Saints 2024: 1. Jack Welsby, 2. Tommy Makinson, 3. Vacant, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Jon Bennison, 6. Jonny Lomax, 7. Lewis Dodd, 8. Alex Walmsley, 9. Daryl Clark, 10. Matty Lees, 11. Sione Mata'utia. 12. Joe Batchelor, 13. Morgan Knowles, 14. Moses Mbye, 15. James Bell, 16. Curtis Sironen, 17. Agnatius Paasi, 18. Jake Wingfield, 19. Matt Whitley, 20. George Delaney, 21. Ben Davies, 22. Sam Royle, 23. Konrad Hurrell, 24. Jake Burns, 25. Tee Ritson, 26. Ben Lane, 27. McKenzie Buckley, 28. Dayon Sambou, 29. Will Roberts, 30. Jonny Vaughan, 31. Noah Stephens, 32. Leon Cowen.