SAINTS loose forward Morgan Knowles will be joined by former Spurs captain Michael Dawson in making the First and Second Round draws for the 2022 Betfred Challenge Cup at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on Tuesday evening (December 14).

The draw will feature two St Helens teams - Thatto  Heath and Pilkington Recs.

Knowles, who signed a new Saints deal earlier today, was a member of the Saints team who beat Castleford Tigers in the 2021 Betfred Challenge Cup Final at Wembley – his second Final, as he also played in the defeat by Warrington Wolves in 2019.

Michael Dawson, a Yorkshireman from Northallerton, made 236 appearances for Spurs from 2005-14, including two seasons as captain, and won four England caps in 2010-11, starting and ending his professional career with Nottingham Forest and also making 122 appearances in four seasons with Hull City.

The draws, which include 28 teams from the community game returning to the competition after a Covid-enforced absence in 2020 as well as 10 teams from Betfred League 1, will be broadcast live on the BBC iPlayer and the RFL’s Our League web and app from 5:30pm.

The First Round of the 2022 Betfred Challenge Cup will be played on the weekend of January 15-16, with the Second Round two weeks later – the start of the road to the Final which will break new ground at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on Saturday May 28.

The First Round will include 28 teams from the community game. The 14 winners will then be joined by 10 teams from Betfred League 1 for the Second Round – including four clubs who have won the Challenge Cup previously in its 125-year history (Hunslet, Oldham, Rochdale Hornets and Swinton Lions) as well as the recently renamed Midlands Hurricanes.

Ball Numbers First Round 1 Bentley 2 Bridgend Blue Bulls 3 British Army 4 Edinburgh Eagles 5 Ellenborough Rangers 6 Featherstone Lions 7 Galway Tribesmen 8 Great Britain Police 9 Hunslet Club Parkside 10 Jarrow Vikings 11 Leigh Miners Rangers 12 Lock Lane 13 London Chargers 14 Milford 15 Orrell St James 16 Pilkington Recs 17 RAF 18 Rochdale Mayfield 19 Royal Navy 20 Siddal 21 Stanningley 22 Thatto Heath Crusaders 23 Thornhill Trojans 24 Upton 25 West Hull 26 Wests Warriors 27 Wigan St Patricks 28 York Acorn.

Second Round 1-14 First Round winners plus: 15 Doncaster 16 Hunslet 17 Keighley Cougars 18 London Skolars 19 Midlands Hurricanes 20 North Wales Crusaders 21 Oldham 22 Rochdale Hornets 23 Swinton Lions 24 West Wales Raiders.

Betfred Challenge Cup 2022 First Round (14 ties) – January 15-16.

Second Round (12 ties) – January 29-30 – Betfred League 1 clubs enter.

Third Round (6 ties) – February 12-13.

Fourth Round (10 ties) – February 26-27 – Betfred Championship clubs enter.

Fifth Round (5 ties) – March 12-13.

Sixth Round (8 ties) – March 26-27 – Betfred Super League clubs enter.

Quarter Finals – April 9-10.

Semi Finals – Saturday May 7 at Elland Road, Leeds.

 Betfred Challenge Cup Final 2022 – Saturday May 28 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium