AS we build up towards Friday's Grand final we take a take a walk back to Old Trafford 2000 when Saints made history by becoming the first side to win back-to-back Super League titles with a 29-16 triumph.

It was the last time Saints have done that and they will be seeking top repeat the feat at the KCOM on Friday night.

Ian Millward's men had bounced to the final after the Wide to West win over Bradford Bulls and a 54-16 win at League Leaders Wigan booking their spot at the Theatre of Dreams.

But the game was a tighter affair than the scoreline suggests, but helped by a captain's knock from Chris Joynt Saints came through to take the title.

It was a day of farewells for Saints - with long-serving prop Apollo Perelini as well as Fereti Tuilagi and Julian O’Neill bowing out.

In a nip and tuck first half centre Sean Hoppe, in for the injured Paul Newlove, opened the scoring when he slipped through three tacklers to touch down.

Skipper Andy Farrell levelled the scores five minutes later and the cherry and whites began to get on top.

St Helens Star:

Joynt had a try chalked off for failing to ground the ball but then made no mistake when he crossed from close range.

Paul Sculthorpe slotted a drop goal from 25 yards out to push the score up to 11-4 at half time.

Sean Long's break set up Joynt for his second to put Saints in the driving seat at 17-4.

But nothing is easy in Saints v Wigan clashes and David Hodgson and Tony Smith grabbed a try each to make it 17-16 leading into the nerve-jangling final minutes.

St Helens Star:

Tuilagi powered over in the corner and then with 20 seconds remaining, young substitute Tim Jonkers finished off a long-range movement to put the icing on the cake.

St Helens Star:

Skipper Joynt lifted the trophy after collecting the Harry Sunderland Award for a second time.

Bernard Platt captured the pictures that day. So take a wander down Memory Lane in our picture gallery.

St Helens Star: