DAVE Chisnall's Betfred World Matchplay hopes are over for another year.

Vincent van der Voort ended his nine-year wait for a World Matchplay win as he overcame St Helens' five-time quarter-finalist 10-6 in the opening game of night three at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes.

St Helens' hopes now rest with 2019 finalists Michael Smith, who plays Mensure Suljovic in the second round tonight.

Dutchman Van der Voort was quickest out of the blocks, as he raced into a 3-0 lead, only for Chisnall to hit back with checkouts of 130 and 81 on his way to taking the lead for the first time at 5-4.

Van der Voort replied with a 101 finish to regain the lead at 7-6, before going on to outscore Chisnall in the final three legs to set up a second-round meeting with Daryl Gurney.

"A win is always great in such an amazing tournament, so I'm really happy," said Van der Voort.

"My mindset was good and I'm happy with my game. I haven't felt this good for ten to 15 years - the break has given me four months sleeping in my own bed and even though I still have some back pain it's a lot better.

"I enjoyed the time with my family but I missed the competitiveness. I wasn't ready when we started again but I put a lot of hard work in during the week before the World Matchplay."

Gerwyn Price's miserable run at the Betfred World Matchplay continued with a 10-7 defeat to Danny Noppert, who will take on Adrian Lewis in round two, after the 2013 World Matchplay runner-up roared his way to an 11-9 victory over Steve Beaton.

Joe Cullen avenged his 10-0 defeat to Ian White in the 2019 event, coming through the first sudden-death leg of this year's tournament to claim a hard-fought 13-12 victory.

Gurney enjoyed a hot-streak of five consecutive legs to eventually run out a comfortable 10-5 winner against Ricky Evans.

The first-round concludes tonight with a meeting between Premier League star Nathan Aspinall and two-time World Youth Champion Dimitri Van den Bergh, to be followed by the first four second-round matches.


First round, Monday: Vincent van der Voort 10-6 Dave Chisnall, Joe Cullen 13-12 Ian White, Daryl Gurney 10-5 Ricky Evans, Danny Noppert 10-7 Gerwyn Price, Adrian Lewis 11-9 Steve Beaton.