SAINTS will have to play for the full 80 minutes if they are to get a result from Thursday’s clash at Warrington which pitches the champions against the Challenge Cup holders.

The hosts lost their opening round fixture at Wigan – but remained competitive despite the first half dismissal of prop Chris Hill – something that impressed Saints boss Kristian Woolf.

The Wolves skipper has been banned for three matches so will be missing as the sides lock horns for the first time since Wembley.

Woolf said: “I know they are a very good footy side. I am very aware of the close contests last year and them beating us in the Challenge Cup.

“I know a number of their players - and it will be a tough close contest.

“One thing I took out of their game with Wigan is that they played with 12 men for 60 minutes and then 11 for a period, but not at any stage were they out of that contest.

“It was a real committed performance that says to me that whatever we do, it is going to have to be for 80 minutes.”

One player familiar to Woolf is Tongan powerhouse second row Ben Murdoch-Masila – who got off to a strong start after storming past Wigan’s George Burgess in the opener.

Woolf said: “He is a world class player and I have had the privilege of dealing with him.

“Ben was in the first Tonga team I was ever involved with back in 2013.

“Sometimes being over here makes it difficult for guys to come back when games are in Australia and New Zealand but he has been involved every year in some capacity since then.

“I rate him very highly as a bloke and as a player and will be a key person for us to stop on Thursday.”

With Lachlan Coote sidelined, Jack Welsby will resume at full back with Matty Costello coming into the three-quarters.

That will likely mean Kevin Naiqama moving out to the wing, where he ended up last week and came up with two tries.

Saints: 3. Kevin Naiqama, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Regan Grace, 6. Jonny Lomax, 7. Theo Fages, 8. Alex Walmsley, 10. Luke Thompson, 11. Zeb Taia, 12. Dom Peyroux, 13. LMS, 14. Morgan Knowles, 15. Matty Lees, 17. Jack Ashworth, 18. Joseph Paulo, 19. Aaron Smith, 20. James Bentley, 21, Matty Costello, 22. Jack Welsby, 23. Joe Batchelor, 27. Lewis Dodd, 30. Tom Nisbet.