YOUNG sportspeople of all year groups have been honoured at the second Sports Personality of the Year Awards.

This annual event at St Cuthbert’s Catholic High School is timed to coincide with the annual BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards to promote awareness of the power of sport.

More than 100 guests gathered for the ceremony which was held in the school’s drama theatre and had been transformed for the special evening with twinkling lights and a giant Christmas Tree.

The event was hosted by the school’s Curriculum Lead for PE, Nicola Lethbridge, with 20 awards were presented to students, staff and teams by guest of honour, Andy Turner, a track and field athlete who specialised in the 110 metres hurdles.

Andy Turner competed in the Olympics, won gold at the Commonwealths and been crowned a European champion. He is still the third fastest 110m hurdler in British history and is now a champion bodybuilder.

Nicola Lethbridge said: “We celebrated all aspects of sporting success from individual and team achievements, to commitment and dedication shown to sport through various awards. At St Cuthbert’s we are extremely proud of our students and their attitude towards physical activity and were thankful to have them and their families here tonight to share this success.”

A staggering 1,490 votes were cast this year by staff, students and parents for the ultimate award - St Cuthbert’s Sports Personality of the Year.

This year’s winner, Abbie Singleton won for her dart and rugby success. Having picked up her first dart at the age of six, four years down the line, she joined the St Helens Darts academy.

Aged 11 she was scouted to play for Merseyside county youth darts team and her team won her first county competition and she hit a 180. She also took part in a charity darts match, where she was selected and paired with Alan Tabern to play against Johnny Vegas and Paul Wellens, Abbie won with a double 10.

More recently Abbie has taken up rugby, where she has fast-tracked, being selected for Lancashire U15s and chosen to be placed on the Centre of Excellence pathway for England.

Full list of winners:

- Young Sports Personality of the Year: Ben C, Yasmin G & Kelvin G

- Commitment to sport award (KS3/KS4): KS4 Emma M-D, Mason F, Abbie S and Jake L; KS3 Emily M, Rhys L and Raissa R and Dominic C.

- Staff Appreciation Award for Ethics and Mind-set towards Physical Activity both in and out of school: Matt Taylor

- Sports Leader Awards: Maddi L, Molly R, Elyse E, Charlie P and George M

- Team of the Year Award: Y9/10 girls’ rugby team

- Sports Personality of the Year award: Abbie Singleton (darts and rugby)

- For year groups: Year 7 - male - Nathan B, female - Sophie W, Year 8 - male – Tom S, female – Natasha L, Year 9 - male – Aidan K, female – Letitia B, Year 10 - male – Keane G, female – Hollie J.