AWARDS were handed out at the St Helens Striders annual presentation day.

Family and friends gathered to celebrate both individual and club achievements on the back of a very successful 2017.

Kerry Riley and Scott Robertson were crowned Most Improved Strider in female and male categories, while Frank McCallister was awarded the Jim Crehan Memorial Trophy for his outstanding dedication to the club over many years.

The club's New Strider of the Year Award went to Ian Floyd, who since joining Striders less than a year ago has brought lots of cheer and laughter to the club as well as qualifying as a UK Athletics affiliated run leader.

After achieving a whopping 57 per cent of votes, club secretary Richard Seville was voted Strider of the Year in acknowledgement of all his hard work and commitment to the club during 2017.

There were many other racing awards handed out on the day but the biggest award went to all members for making St Helens Striders a running club to be reckoned with, not only for its racing achievements but for its family ethos and community spirit.

All are now looking forward to 2018.