MICHAEL Smith will be among the 16 players competing in the World Series of Darts at the inaugural Bahrain Darts Masters in January.

Grand Slam of Darts champion Smith will compete in the World Series of Darts event at the Bahrain International Circuit on January 12-13, as eight PDC stars come up against eight Asian representatives.

BIC and CBX have teamed up with the PDC to bring the World Series of Darts to Bahrain for the first time, in partnership with Bahrain Tourism and Exhibition Authority, with the Dome tent hosting the two-day event.

World Champions Peter Wright, Gerwyn Price and Rob Cross will compete in Bahrain, alongside and two-time World Series winner Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Five-time World Champion Raymond Van Barneveld will mark his return to the World Series of Darts stage, with the Dutch legend last appearing in 2019 ahead of his short-lived retirement.

Shooting star Luke Humphries will also make his debut in an international World Series of Darts event, marking his rise to fifth on the PDC Order of Merit during a superb 2022 campaign.

The eight Asian representatives will include two qualifiers from Bahrain who will win through from knockout events to be held on December 17-18.

The final PDC representative and Asian representatives will be confirmed in due course. Michael van Gerwen will not compete in Bahrain due to a pre-planned family holiday following the Cazoo World Darts Championship.

Tickets for the Bahrain Darts Masters can be purchased from bahraingp.com.

2023 Bahrain Darts Masters January 12-13, Bahrain International Circuit.

PDC Representatives: Peter Wright, Gerwyn Price, Michael Smith, Luke Humphries, Rob Cross, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Raymond van Barneveld plus one player TBC.