THE schedule of play for the first and second rounds of the 2020/21 William Hill World Darts Championship has been confirmed, with reigning champion Peter Wright to compete on the opening night on Tuesday December 15.

The pre-Christmas period in the sport's greatest tournament will see the first and second rounds played across nine days from December 15-23.

The schedule of play has now been confirmed for the pre-Christmas period, which will see the three St Helens darters Michael Smith, Dave Chisnall and Stephen Bunting all competing on the last day before the Christmas break.

Following a three-day Christmas break, the third and fourth rounds will be held from December 27-30, with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final being held from January 1-3.

Tickets for the William Hill World Darts Championship are now on general sale from, with up to 1,000 fans per session able to attend under specific regulations.

In the afternoon session of Wednesday December 23 Stephen Bunting will play the winner of Andy Boulton v Deta Hedman.

In the evening session Dave Chisnall will play the winners of Keegan Brown v Ryan Meikle, while Michael Smith takes on either Jason Lowe or Dmitriy Gorbunov.