THE shortlist for the 2019 Mikhail Hotel and Leisure Group Pride of St Helens Awards has been unveiled - after a selection process that saw judges go through hundreds of nominations.

The event, to be held at Saints’ Totally Wicked Stadium on Friday, November 8, is organised by the Steve Prescott Foundation and media partners the Star, with the aim of raising aspiration across St Helens by highlighting inspiring stories of achievement, resilience, courage and talent.

Among those nominated this year for the headline Pride of St Helens award are Elizabeth Hill, founder of the esteemed dance school; Eamonn McManus, the chairman of St Helens rugby league club; and St Helens Foodbank, which gives emergency supplies to people in need.

Big names on the list include rugby league Golden Boot winner Tommy Makinson and darts ace Michael Smith, a runner-up in the 2019 PDC World Final.

Elsewhere there are nominations for the charity St Helens Mind and young Brassic actor Jude Riordan.

Many of the others on the list are people or organisations who have featured in the Star's pages over the past 12 months with stories of talent, courage and selflessness.

Speaking on behalf of the Pride of St Helens organising committee, Andrew Kilmurray, editor of the St Helens Star, said: “Once again the calibre of nominations was so strong that it made drawing up the shortlist of nominees prove a hugely challenging process for the judges.

"We would like to thank everyone who put forward nominations and congratulate all those shortlisted.

"We have some tremendously gifted, hardworking, selfless and courageous people in St Helens and we can look forward to fantastic night when we will celebrate those who make our community great."

Martin Blondel, on behalf of The Steve Prescott Foundation, said: “Everyone who nominated would have been worthy winners and even though they have not made it to the awards evening they should be rightly proud of their achievements in the borough.

“8th November at the Totally Wicked Stadium, St Helens will unite and it will be time to rejoice and shout out all that is great and good in our town”

All those shortlisted will be profiled in a special St Helens Star supplement next week.

The Mikhail Hotel and Leisure Group Pride of St Helens Shortlist 2019.

The Child of Courage Award sponsored by Accord Wills

  • Joey Tildesley-Devine
  • Mason Naylor

Young Community Star Award sponsored by JC Kitchens

  • Oliver Reece-Woods
  • Callum Lyon
  • Jack Lea

Young Sportsperson of the Year sponsored by St Helens Council    

  • Sophie Bellis
  • Jacob Kelly
  • Hannah Rylatt

Charity Champion sponsored by Assured Life    

  • Carl Wales
  • Leanne Gauchwin
  • St Helens Mind

Arts Award sponsored by Imperial Terrace and Bar     

  • Sugar House and Catalyst Studios
  • Jude Riordan
  • Sofia Wilkinson-Hill

Courage Award sponsored by Cosey Rentals

  • Megan Lea
  • Jess Rigby
  • Tyler Turner    

Leadership Award sponsored by Allisons Financial

  • Richard Owen
  •  Robert Vaughan
  • Simon Foster

Unsung Hero sponsored by Handepay

  • Ian Roberts and St Helens #LitterHeroes
  • Donna Milow
  • Steve Thornton at Himvisible

Sportsperson of the Year sponsored by St Helens RFC

  • Michael Smith
  • EJay Harris
  • Tommy Makinson

Family of the Year Award sponsored by Paramount Digital

  • Shana Begum and her children
  • The family of Adam Ellison
  • The family of Kaycee Bradshaw    

Pride of St Helens Award sponsored by The Mikhail Hotel and Leisure Group

  • Eamonn McManus
  • Elizabeth Hill Dance School
  • Hope Centre Food Bank