INCOMING St Helens Council leader David Baines has revealed the make-up of his Cabinet.

Cllr Baines has named the nine members for his top team at the town hall for the year 2019-20.

READ MORE > St Helens Council to name David Baines as new leader

The announcement sees Haydock councillor Martin Bond move in to take the finance portfolio.

Meanwhile, Newton councillor Jeanie Bell returns to Cabinet to take charge of community safety.

St Helens Star:

Cllr Martin Bond

Those who drop out include Anthony Johnson, who did not seek re-election in May's local elections and Jeanette Banks, who lost her Haydock seat to the Greens in the vote earlier this month.

The full line-up of the cabinet with portfolios is as follows:

  • Councillor Sue Murphy: Deputy Leader of St Helens Council and portfolio holder for Developing Young People
  • Councillor Joe Pearson: Protecting Young People
  • Councillor Marlene Quinn: Adult Social Care & Health
  • Councillor Richard McCauley: Economic Regeneration and Housing
  • Councillor Lynn Clarke: Environmental Services
  • Councillor Jeanie Bell: Community Safety
  • Councillor Anthony Burns: Public Health, Leisure, and Libraries
  • Councillor Martin Bond: Finance
  • Councillor Kate Groucutt: Corporate Services, Estates and Communication

St Helens Star:

Cllr Jeanie Bell returns to Cabinet

New leader Cllr David Baines will be officially appointed at Annual Council which is to be held in the council chamber at midday on Wednesday, May 22.

His intended Cabinet will take on their responsibilities at that point.

Cllr Baines said: "I am delighted to announce my intended cabinet appointments.

"This is a strong team: every member is passionate about St Helens borough and has the skills and experience needed to deliver for the people and communities we serve.

"Our entire council is committed to working hard for St Helens all year round, and myself and the Cabinet are looking forward to leading that work."