THE finalists of the inaugural Pride of St Helens Business Awards, which look to celebrate and raise the profile of outstanding business achievers, have been unveiled.

The awards aim to raise the profile of the borough’s hardworking, innovative and enterprising business community and build on the Pride of St Helens community awards, which were founded by the Steve Prescott Foundation and the St Helens Star in 2012.

The awards evening will be held on Thursday, November 15 at Saints' Totally Wicked Stadium in partnership with the Star and the SPF.

The community Pride of St Helens awards will take place on Friday, November 16.

The business finalists were shortlisted by a panel from the St Helens Economy Board and St Helens Council Leader, Derek Long.

Eamonn McManus, chairman of both the St Helens Economy Board and St Helens RFC, said: “These awards will celebrate the role of St Helens businesses and social enterprises in raising the profile of St Helens.

"While we can only present awards to a select few, it is the collective diligence of all local businesses that make St Helens an attractive place to invest, live, work, learn and visit, by nurturing pride and aspirations, and creating inspiration and employment opportunities.”

St Helens Council leader, Derek Long said: “The quality and creativity of businesses and their staff in St Helens borough is breath-taking.

"It’s no wonder businesses are investing here. Congratulations to everyone who entered. You are an asset to our local economy.”

Sponsors of the awards include Natwest, Knauf Insulation, Unite the Union, St Helens College, St Helens Theatre Royal, Steve Prescott Foundation, DC&A Financial Planning, Global Mutual, Halton and St Helens Voluntary and Community Action, Lucam Consultancy, and Cultivate.

The shortlist for the Pride of St Helens community awards will be unveiled next week.

Full list of finalists follows:

Community Impact

  • Apex Charitable Trust
  • Co-op Lea Green Distribution Centre
  • Groundwork

Growing the Creative Industry

  • Jamm Studios
  • St Helens Theatre Royal
  • Vinyline Graphics

Employee/Team of the Year

  • Boots – Jodie Sefton
  • Groundwork – Amy Dawber
  • Ibis Styles –'Mauricio Dorta Vinas
  • Waterside Training Ltd – Kathryn Kirby

Employer of the Year

  • Boots
  • Communication Plus Ltd
  • Handepay

Excellence in Logistics

  • DriverNet
  • Proactive Despatch Ltd
  • Nijman/Zeetank

Excellence in Manufacturing

  • Coral Products Ltd
  • Inovus Medical
  • The Filter Design Company

Medium/Large Business

  • Handepay
  • Longworth Building Services Ltd
  • Network Space

Skills for the Future

  • Carmel College
  • Cowley International College
  • Mill Green School

Small Business 10-49 Employees

  • Compound Feed Engineering Ltd
  • ODs
  • Safer Sphere

Small Business <10 Employees

  • Forsters Farm Shop
  • Heaven Sent
  • Phoenix Plant Based Eatery

Growing the Visitor Economy

  • Theatre Royal
  • Saints Rugby Club
  • Haydock Racecourse