The annual St Helens High Schools Rugby League competitions came to their conclusions recently with the Jim Forshaw Schools Cup Finals being successfully held once at again at Langtree Park and Thatto Heath Crusaders.

The first of the games saw Hope Academy narrowly lose out to St Augustine’s in the Year 7 Paul Wellens Cup Final, with St Augustine’s Karl Ingham being Paul’s choice of Man of the Match.

The Year 8 game saw Man of the Match Luke Tompkinson lead his De La Salle team to victory over Hope Academy in the Eric Chisnall Cup Final.

The Year 9 Chris Arkwright Cup Final was a very tough contest with St Cuthberts edging out Hope Academy in a game that saw ‘Cuthie’s’ Joe McSpirit lead from the front to pick up the Man of the Match award.

Despite ending on the losing team, Sutton Academy’s Ben Hayes was the standout player in the Year 10 Keiron Cunningham Cup Final.

His team narrowly lost out to Cowley International College.

The highlight of both days was the Year 11 Cup Final between the Sutton Academy and Cowley International College.

The Saints legend himself was on hand to watch the Alex Murphy Cup Final.

The game had it all, excitement and fisticuffs, with the lead changing hands on several occasions until a last minute try saw the Man of the Match, fullback Lewis Furlong, lead his Sutton team to victory.

The Sutton Year 11 team have been the most successful school team in recent history, having won the relevant cup finals in every year from 7 to 11.