Three St Helens amateur teams go into Challenge Cup

St Helens Star: Blackbrook in Challenge Cup action against York at Langtree Park this year Blackbrook in Challenge Cup action against York at Langtree Park this year

THATTO Heath, Pilkington Recs and Blackbrook have been invited to take part in the 2014 Tetley’s Challenge Cup.

The tournament will see the largest geographical spread of competing teams from across Britain in the competition’s history after the RFL today confirmed the list of community clubs taking part in next season’s knockout tournament.

A total of 44 community clubs have been invited to participate in the country’s most prestigious club competition and will form the first two rounds, which will be played on February 1 and February 22 respectively.

The remaining winning teams will then face semi-professional opposition in the third round (to be played on the weekend of March 15/16) before the Super League clubs – including holders Wigan Warriors – enter the fray in the fourth (April 5/6).

Teams from the length and breadth of Britain will be in the first round draw, which is due to take place in the week commencing January 6, with 550 miles separating the competition’s most northerly and southerly sides.

The third tier of the Rugby League pyramid has the most participants, with 31 sides representing the National Conference League and the Bristol Sonics representing the Conference League South.

Scotland and Wales both have participating champion teams, as Aberdeen Warriors prepare for their tournament debut alongside Torfaen Tigers, the Welsh champions, whilst student Rugby League giants Leeds Metropolitan University and Loughborough University represent the education sector.

All three Armed Forces teams are represented – the Royal Air Force, British Army and Royal Navy – whilst Great Britain Police also enter, hoping to build on their positive performances during this summer’s Police Rugby League World Cup.

From the game’s fourth tier, Cumbria Men’s League champions Walney Central are entered whilst, at the other end of the country, Harry Jepson Trophy Winners, South West London Chargers, are looking forward to their participation.

The North West Men’s League champions Halton Simms Cross and the North West Men’s League’s Widnes St Marie’s complete the list.

Full list of participating community clubs: Askam, Blackbrook, East Hull, Dewsbury Celtic, East Leeds, Egremont Rangers, Elland, Hull Dockers, Hunslet Warriors, Kells, Leigh Miners Rangers, Lock Lane, Milford Marlins, Millom, Myton Warriors, Normanton Knights, Oulton Raiders, Pilkington Recs, Rochdale Mayfield, Saddleworth Rangers, Shaw Cross Sharks, Siddal, Skirlaugh, Thatto Heath Crusaders, Underbank Rangers, Wath Brow Hornets, West Hull, Wigan St Jude’s, Wigan St Patrick’s, Woolston Rovers, York Acorn, Bristol Sonics, British Army, Royal Navy, Royal Air Force, Leeds Metropolitan University, Loughborough University, Aberdeen Warriors, Great Britain Police, Torfaen Tigers, Halton Simms Cross, South West London Chargers, Walney Central, Widnes St Marie’s.

Fans can buy tickets for the Tetley’s Challenge Cup final now. The 2014 showpiece event, which will be the 113th staging of the final, will return to London’s Wembley Stadium on Saturday August 23 and fans can book their place at Wembley from as little as £22.

Tickets for the 2014 Tetley's Challenge Cup final can be purchased by calling the RFL Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113 or by visiting


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree