PORTICO’S season came to a strange end this week when their opposition Hindley conceded the game thus making Portico the NWC Division 5 Champions.

After losing their first three matches Portico went unbeaten for the rest of the season winning 19 games on the bounce to win the league on a vastly superior points difference to Culcheth Eagles.

Congratulations to first season coach Paul Leyland, Players of the year Kevin Rooney, Nathan Ashurst and Mike Haggerty and all the players who contributed to an outstanding first season.