ALMOST all council services will be disrupted on Thursday, July 10 following a national 24-hour strike by public sector workers over pay and pensions.

Essential services including care for the elderly and vulnerable will be maintained while the council’s contact centre will deal with emergency telephone or email enquiries only.

Most council buildings will be closed to the public however there will be a limited service available at town hall reception.

The main services affected include:

  • Bin collections

There will be NO brown bin collections on Thursday 10 July. If your brown bin is due for collection on that day please put it out for collection on Saturday 12 July instead.

  • Recycling and/or green bin collections

There will be NO recycling collections on Thursday 10 July. If your recycling containers and/or green bins are due to be collected on that day, please present them on your next scheduled collection date. Check your recycling calendar or the council website ( for details.

  • Bulky rubbish collections

There will be no bulky rubbish collections on Thursday 10 July. However all appointments will be re-scheduled.

  • Day care centres

All day care centres will be closed.

  • Careline Service

The Careline Service will be operating.

  • Addaction

The new Addaction premises at Lincoln House on Corporation Street will be open Leisure centres Selwyn Jones Leisure Centre will be the only one to open. Queens, Parr and Sutton will all be closed.

  • Libraries

All libraries will be closed

  • Schools

​Schools open

St Mary’s Catholic Junior; Holy Cross; Rainhill Nursery; Garswood Primary; Broad Oak Primary; St Theresa’s; PACE Pupil Referral Unit; Rivington Primary; Sherdley; St Peter and St Paul; Birchley St Mary’s; St Peter’s CE, Willow Tree; The District.

Schools partially open (contact schools for further information)

Oakdene; De La Salle (yr 7 and yr 10 must attend); Newton Primary; St James CE Primary; Rainford High; Ashurst; Allanson Street; Cowley; Lyme Community; St Augustine’s; Rectory; Launchpad Pupil Referral Unit; Blackbrook St Mary’s; Thatto Heath CP; Bleak Hill; Legh Vale; St Anne’s, Sutton; St Thomas of Canterbury; Eccleston Mere; Haydock High; Holy Spirit; Lansbury Bridge; St Bartholomew’s.

Schools closed to students

St Cuthbert’s , Longton Lane; St Mary’s Catholic Infant; Billinge Chapel End; Haydock English Martyrs; Rainford Brook Lodge; St Ann’s CE Rainhill; Carr Mill Primary; St Austin’s; Rainhill High; Sutton Oak; Corpus Christi; Billinge St Aidan’s; Eccleston Lane Ends; Mill Green; St Mary and St Thomas; Sutton Academy, Wargrave; Penkford; Grange Valley; St John Vianney; St Julie’s; Merton Bank; Eaves; Parish; Queens Park; Hope Academy; Sutton Manor; St Teresa’s; Rainford CofE; Robin’s Lane; Nutgrove.